JimP

Outside Tyre Wear on Front

Hi All

Around five months ago I noticed the outside edges of the front tyres were showing a lot of wear.  The pressures are good so I suspected a tracking problem.  The car was taken to a local tyre dealer who I have used for 25 years to have the tracking checked.  They told me the tracking was fine and then said some tyres just seem to wear like that on some cars.  I carried on driving and of course came to the inevitable MOT fail in January.  The tyres were replaced and my local independent garage where I get my cars serviced checked the tracking for me.

Mike, the owner, said that technically the tyre dealer had been right when he said the tracking was fine - because BMW specify a 'range' of tolerance.  However the tracking was not spot on. I believe the rear wheels being slightly out of track may have also contributed. The tracking has now been set precisely,  and I'm hoping the condition will not recur.

I'm no technical expert but it might be worth checking this, particularly if you get wear on just one edge (so not linked to under-inflation).

Jim

Yes, they are run flats.  But I have had the car for a few years and the previous tyres had never worn like this.  Plus the very excessive wear was only on the outside edges.  I have read some posts on this forum that seem to suggest RFT have very stiff sidewalls which could lead to excessive wear on the edges - but this is likely to happen if the tyres were under-inflated and would affect both edges to some degree.  In my case the outside edges reached their wear limits well before the rest of the tyre.

My local garage may have this all wrong, but my post is just to advise anyone that notices this sort of wear pattern to consider having their tracking CAREFULLY checked.  I will report back when I have longer to observe the new tyres.

Jim