jamesf

How to retrofit cruise control to E34 lacking factory harness, **COMPLETE**

THIS JOB IS COMPLETE AND SUCESSFULL: LATEST UPDATE 29TH SEPT 2012

Total job time: approx ten hours.

This was an experiment, I'm not an electrician but nevertheless it works.

Comments, input, tips and advice welcome and appreciated and I'll edit this as it progresses. If more pictures are required then please ask.

For anyone interested I am going to have a go at fitting cruise to an E34 that isn't pre-loomed. So that will be most 520i's and some later 525i's like mine. It would be nice to simply retro fit the factory loom but it seems this went in before the engine and dash and would be a nightmare to attempt. Therefore I have studied the cruise control wiring diagrams and have decided I am going to make my own loom and fit it in situ.

Before anyone thinks of doing the same please study the electrical diagrams and make sure you understand them fully before you do anything else. My car is a '96 525i and there may be differences in wiring.

Wiring diagrams can be found here http://www.armchair..../~dave/BMW/e34/

First thing I did was to draw out my own diagram which helped simplify the wiring and I could easily see wiring colours at a glance and I mapped the wiring in a more logical and truer to life route.

Documents_zps66fad578.jpg

Next step was to source the bits I needed. I was lucky and found a scrap car with everything in it. That would be the cruise control ECU, actuator with bracket and control stalk. The ECU is found behind the left front footwell speaker. You need the plugs and as much of the wiring as possible is beneficial. Once you have what you need, make sure all the wiring colours correspond to your wiring diagram.

DSCF0885_zpsf0810446.jpgDSCF0890_zps25cc9058.jpgDSCF0892_zps37f50883.jpg

Before starting I gathered all the materials required. This was my checklist:

Reel of wire

connectors

one meter of weather proof conduit to accomodate six wiresone