stuclark

Looking to buy an E34, but not sure which one

I'm new to BMW ownership, but have decided I want to buy an E34, as I've always thought they're one of the best looking bimmers produced in the last 20 odd years.

The question is (and I realise there's no difinitive answer to this), which model should I buy?

I want a car that:

1) is not an estate (so Touring models are out)

2) is as economical as possible to run, on both fuel and maintenance

3) preferably has climate control

4) preferably has leather interior

5) Isn't going to cost me the earth to buy

6) is fun and engaging to drive

7) has enough of a turn of speed / acceleration to not be stuck behind some french 207 thing

I've got a Range Rover CSK at the moment so am all too aware of the scurge of rust and the immense running costs of a V8 (a 3.9 litre in my case), so am looking for something which can return 30+ MPG. From what I've read here and elsewhere, I had decided that a 525i with manual transmition was the way to go, but there's at least one thread on here suggesting that the 525tds auto would be a better choice.

So, what would you all recommend I look for? (I realise the wish list may not all be possible)

1) is not an estate (so Touring models are out)

2) is as economical as possible to run, on both fuel and maintenance

3) preferably has climate control

4) preferably has leather interior

5) Isn't going to cost me the earth to buy (some good deal to be had)

6) is fun and engaging to drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7) has enough of a turn of speed / acceleration to not be stuck behind some french 207 thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Two letters mate - M5, you will never look back, unless you want to see the surprise on the face of the person you overtook. Had mine 4 years and would have trouble replacing it with better, looking for an E39 M5 but will still keep my E34 ( hopefully).