Hi all,

Probably in the wrong section and been asked a million times but I'm useless at searching forums, so....

I've been offered an E34 540 with 60k miles at what seems to be a reasonable price, I've been looking through the "how to" guides etc, and buying guides and what worries me most is that parts seem to be becoming scarce.

You guys are all die-hard fans but would you contemplate E34 ownership in 2021?

I'm no expert but I've had E36/E46/E86 and currently have an F30 which is my daily so I'm used to BMWs but is E34 ownership difficult?

Any help appreciated

Depends what parts you're looking for, in terms of mechanicals, then I don't think there's an issue. If you're only looking at the dealer for parts, then yes there is an increasing number of parts becomming obsolete, but it isn't hard to find OEM spec parts elsewhere. Lemforder for suspension, ATE for brakes, etc.

The M60 is a tough engine, and at 60k if it's been looked after, and you continue that, there's probably another 200,000 miles in it. Mine's done 198,000 and still pulls like a train, and I have a manual E39 540 (4.4 plus VANOS  vs 4.0 in the E34) so I have a pretty good base for comparison. The cam cover gaskets will most likely fail if they haven't already, so there'll be oil leaks. replacing them is pretty cheap and easy, and a good time to swap the plugs. Nice afternoon job.  Auto box will benefit from a fluid and filter change, though it's probably ok at your mileage. 

Body and trim parts are where the problems lie, but they're not parts you need regularly, and not critical to forward motion. I've found a lot of parts on ebay, from all over Europe. Cross referencing part numbers with RealOEM is the key to getting the right bits.