Gte86

Hoping to become a 530i Touring owner

Hi I'm Tom 

I'm 34 and from Newport Pagnell

Had a few cars over the years. Starting off on Nova GTEs and then a homebuilt Redtop Nova with NOS. A few years down the line and I've got an Audi A4 b6 pd130. 

I've been after an E38 735i for ages and now I've got the money together I've realised it's not as practical for my large family and dogs. 

So change of plan. I'm after an e39 530iA touring. 

I'm here for any advise on things to check when buying and faults to look out for. 

I'm a mechanic by trade so I know my way around a car and I'm confident on the spanners. 

I can't wait to have a touring so I can get a trailer and get my dads 33 Ford hotrod out to some shows on it. 

IMG_20200906_213554_619.jpg

16 hours ago, Gte86 said:

Hi I'm Tom 

I'm 34 and from Newport Pagnell

Had a few cars over the years. Starting off on Nova GTEs and then a homebuilt Redtop Nova with NOS. A few years down the line and I've got an Audi A4 b6 pd130. 

I've been after an E38 735i for ages and now I've got the money together I've realised it's not as practical for my large family and dogs. 

So change of plan. I'm after an e39 530iA touring. 

I'm here for any advise on things to check when buying and faults to look out for. 

I'm a mechanic by trade so I know my way around a car and I'm confident on the spanners. 

I can't wait to have a touring so I can get a trailer and get my dads 33 Ford hotrod out to some shows on it. 

IMG_20200906_213554_619.jpg

Welcome to the forums :) 

You'll not go wrong with an E39 touring; I am biased :mrgreen:

Having owned an E38 myself; superb car, but the E39 touring just does it better IMO

What kind of spec are you ideally after and what's your budget? 

There's a superb & busy E39 tech section further down the homepage; so you'll find all the info you need there for do's and don't's... But in a nutshell; things to check are:

Rust (mainly sills, arches, tailgate lid etc)