Jared T

Radio/Nav fix for 2002 Jap inport

Good morning all,

I've been driving a 2002 530i for the past 9 years, but it is now not in a great state and I've "upgraded" to a beautiful rust free 2002 525i imported from Japan.  The new car is wonderful in many ways, but there a few things I'm missing.  First, the subject of the new topic, is the radio.  The car came from factory with some version of the navigation modules, or so I expect, as the connectors in the dashboard are two (one blue and one white) rectangles with 2x6 pins.  The display in the car is no longer there, it was replaced with  a Japanese language aftermarket item that I've removed.  Now the issue is what to replace it with.  I don't especially care about the quality of the audio, but want to limit how dated it looks.  

One option is to find an oem navigation unit along with the other parts (dvd navigation unit and others I imagine).  This option has the benefit that it would look oem, but of course is kind of dated and it seems would cost about £200 for the various parts.  One the plus side it doesn't seem to require any wiring which would be wonderful.