astronaut

F10 EGR cooler actuator and Turbo

Hi All,

I recently got drivetrain warning on my F10 and it went into limp mode. When I took it to the BMW dealership, I have been told that the EGR cooler actuator has been broken and it caused damages to the turbo and both needs to be replaced. The EGR cooler has been replaced 32 months ago at my expense and I have been told that the actuator also comes with it. I had received the EGR cooler recall notice from BMW early this year and when I took it to the dealership for the replacement, they advised me that it is not applicable for my car. But the same component failed again in 32 months (10 months after receiving the recall notice) under 15000 miles since the replacement and cost me a huge bill. I am not an expert in car mechanics but I think it happened due to the dodgy EGR coolers in BMWs and poor customer service from BMW dealerships. I would appreciate if you could share your thoughts on this issue or if I could raise a complaint with BMW and can they help?

JV

Hi,

I would definitely look to reach out to BMW directly and see what advice they can offer. 

15,000 miles for an EGR cooler is by no means its 'normal life'. 

good luck, do let us know how you get on. 

Yeah, I am planning to contact BMW. When I asked the dealership about the life expectancy of EGR cooler, they told me that the problem is with the actuator that comes with the EGR cooler, not the cooler itself. And I am confused!

Yeah, I am planning to contact BMW. When I asked the dealership about the life expectancy of EGR cooler, they told me that the problem is with the actuator that comes with the EGR cooler, not the cooler itself. And I am confused!
It sounds like they are fobbing you off. Take it further.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

9 hours ago, astronaut said:

The EGR Valve has 2 components. The Valve itself that I assume is being referred to as the actuator and the cooler. It must be the valve that packed up causing the damage.