mobilejo

This couldn't actually happen, could it?

https://www.forbes.com/sites/carltonreid/2019/02/27/all-new-cars-to-have-speed-limiters-fitted-rules-european-parliament/amp/

However, a new ruling by the European Parliament could result in the mandatory installation of Intelligent Speed Assistance (ISA) in all new cars within three years.

Even if the U.K. leaves the European Union, it is expected that the E.U.’s  ISA rules will be adopted. The UK’s Vehicle Certification Agency has previously said that it intends to mirror E.U. rules post-Brexit. It is also unlikely that car makers will produce “speeding-allowed” vehicles for the U.K. market.

Modern speed limiters do not automatically apply brakes but cap the top speed of motor vehicles by restricting engine fuel supplies. The technology works by using a speed sign-recognition cameras and GPS-linked speed limit data.

Interesting.

I'm not a proponent of irresponsible driving or excessive speed, but at the same time having every car physically limited at all times on all roads seems to the speed limit seems ludicrous. Most people would never see over 30mph on the majority of their journeys. I just cannot see how this will happen, as the idea seems bonkers to me.

What do others think?

Also, random thought: Would the last non-limited cars suddenly be worth a small fortune? 

Don't you just love the EU? :rolleyes:

This would cause pandemonium on the roads by putting cars in the same position that trucks are in,  ie making it very difficult and long winded  to overtake. 

3 minutes ago, Paddy O'Furniture said:

This would cause pandemonium on the roads by putting cars in the same position that trucks are in,  ie making it very difficult and long winded  to overtake.