bmwf113.0d

From a 5 to a 3?

Am I mad, I have a F11 530d with lots of nice extra's (10k ish) but keep hankering after an xdrive.

Although I love the 530 I have been looking @ 335d xDrive's around the 14 plate for a while now and am getting near to taking the plunge.

Am I mad?  

335xd is probably all the car you need esp. in touring form. That said in my experience year on year the 5 is always a better place to be.

I've no experience of the current range but e30/28, 36/34 and 46/39 the 5 was always better built.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes - just the 3 series is inferior to the current 5. Difference in quality appears greater than in days gone by. 

Just get a set of winter wheels and tyres - the difference is phenomenal 

This topic is very apt for me as I've just done the very thing you are thingking of doing.  I currently have an F10 520d m sport which I've owned from new for the last 2 years.  I've now traded it in and bought myself an F30 330d m sport, after test driving one, I fell in love with the way it drove. Much more driver focussed was how I would sum it up. 

I haven't picked it up yet - still at BMW. I love my F10 and it's hasn't let me down, but don't need such a big car anymore, hence going for an F30 as my circumstances have changed.  You have to do what feels right for you. This felt right for me! 

I've still not made a change yet so would be interested in your account of the 3 once you've had it a while, performance aside I'm more interested to see if it's a massive step back. 

My choices are another 5 (hard to find anything like this spec in a 535), a 3 series or a cls shootingbrake 350 at the moment. Although I am also now interested in the a6 avant. 

On 28/03/2017 at 06:55, bmwf113.0d said:

I've still not made a change yet so would be interested in your account of the 3 once you've had it a while, performance aside I'm more interested to see if it's a massive step back.