admiral

Early Oil Change or not?

I have nearly covered 1000 miles in a new 2016 520d.  In the past when running in a new motor, it was good practice to change the oil after 2k to 3k miles.  Theory was that running the engine will grind off tiny particles which are best rid of rather than waiting a year or so and risking damaging the engine.

Service indicator shows an oil change in 2 years, which seems a long way away.

Would the engine benefit from an early oil change, or am I wasting my money?

If you believe the engineers (I'm an engineer)... then simply follow what it says on the iDrive. The argument is tolerances are so much better these days, less swarf is produced during running in. Only the M5 has a running in service.

Obviously I follow the iDrive. I've never had issues with E60s or F10s by doing so and I run then up to 80k miles before the itch to switch cuts in.  My 2007 E60 is still on the road (not in my possession) at 150k+.

That said, you paid your money and take your choice. If you feel better by changing oil early, go for it. 

For me, it's a machine (a fine machine to be sure) but still a machine. For some it's a passion and that's great and that's why we have so many classics out there. Each to their own. Enjoy it! 

Another Engineer here (albeit a concrete and steel type not a mechanical) and I would be inclined to say, if you want to change the oil go ahead as it will do no harm other than in the wallet department as buying oil buy the individual litre from BMW will be close to £20 a litre and you will need at a guess around 5 litres.  You can of course buy the same oil from Costco in 4litre bottles from less than £30.

What might be worth doing is changing just the filter which hopefully will have trapped any particles and top up as necessary.  Not sure if you pull out the filter oil will spill out having not dropped the sump.  I could do that on my E60 with only losing 1 out of 8 litres of oil.