the_rangdo

Oil level too high

Anyone had this yet?

I just randomly checked the vehicle status while sat in a queue and it told me the oil was too high, check immediately.

It was serviced back in April and I've not checked since so I can't say if it's an overfill or something more serious but obviously I'll be checking more often as likely when it goes in tomorrow all that'll happen is they'll drain off some oil and say it was an overfill.

They can't blame any electronic sensors, I checked the level on the real dipstick and after standing for an hour after driving 40 miles it's still a good 3-4mm beyond the max line.

Not sure what concerns me more; that it was an overfill and I've been driving for 3 months/5000 miles on it :shock: , or diesel getting into the sump.

I dropped it off tonight and had a good chat.

Given the level seems so high (it covers the word Max on the dipstick) they agreed it's unlikely to be an overfill, and I'm reasonably sure I checked the status after the oil service so I'd have picked up an overfill at the time.

So it does look like it's fuel pump related. Hopefully no actual damage has been done, performance doesn't feel to have changed and fuel consumption is the same.

Hm - that's a bit worrying. I did 100k miles on my e46 330Cd with no problems and I think it's much the same engine at its heart. Would be interested to know the outcome when you get the vehicle back. How many miles have the car done?

They had it all day, dropped the oil and refilled to the proper level with 0.5l left over.

It's being blamed on overfill which I'm not overly happy/convinced with but with work commitments and a looming holiday I haven't got the time to muck about so all I can do now is keep an eye on the levels >_>

Currently on 22k miles, most of the last

12k steady motorway driving.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2

Edited by the_rangdo