Hillview550

Surging issues - 550i

Hi all yep I'm new to this, Im' afraid I'm bit of an old fart now but need some help and advice...

I Have a 2006 550i msport, fantastic thing and to some extent reminds me of my racing days, BUT I have a problem;

It surges slightly under light throttle load up to 1700 rpm, this is enough being an auto that it plays havoc with smooth changes and general driveability.

Both Bosch and Autologic find no DTC's 

On idle thru to 2500 rpm at stand still the charge rate is a consistent 14.2v 

Check gearbox fluid level - all OK - on very light feathering gear changes are as once was smooth....

Battery, Plugs, coil packs, MAF, Fuel filter, CCV, vacuum lines and checks for air leaks, respective sensors, etc, etc, have been cleaned, checked or replaced (mostly replaced) and adaptions reset ! 

So I am at a loss....can anyone advise me with any similar experiences ?

Thanks for your time.

Jonathan 

PS. Ive renewed vacuum pump it whined loudly BMW dealer said they whine some anyway !!!! - is this true ???

Edited by Hillview550
spelling

Welcome.  I'm not an expert here, but I wonder if it is not the engine at all, and perhaps something like wear in the torque converter.

Not 550i but 545i with the same N62 engine  My vacuum pump was silent.  It leaked oil between the joint with the upper timing case but no whine.

What rpm does it surge between?  Mine surged between 1000 and 1200 rpm but not as high as that.  Does it do it in all gears?

Possibly TC lock up clutch issue.  Have you had the codes read?

My experience is mainly limited to diesels....however...

A TC lockup fault tends to make the revs dip up and down but you don't really feel it in the car. The car dithers up/down between two gears but the changes are smooth and it doesn't really come through to the car.