asharb123

Buying a F10 Petrol

Hi,

I currently have a 04 54 plate 530i, which I love, but I can't stop looking at the F10. I do feel like I'm being unfaithful to my 530i by looking at younger newer 5 series BMW's. 

What should I look for when buying an F10.

1) What are the common problems, how do I find them or know they are there?.

2) How reliable are they?

3) I'm a petrol driver, which engine should I look at? My budget only allows me an early F10 a 2010 / 2011 model year. 

4) Is there a big difference between the 523i and 528i?

Thanks

Good choice!!

1.. corrosion on doors (yep, really!).

2. N53 has well documented past issues with HPFP, electric coolant pump, and injectors failing. That said they are a lot better these days withmost parts revise. Also the n55 has the same HPFP and coolant pump plus a turbo. The price of the injectors is the same as a turbo (ish) I'd imagine. My n53 has been fine bar a new set of injectors at 40k covered by warranty.

3. 2010-11 you are looking at n55 (535i) or n53 (523i, 528i, 530i).

4. I'd imagine there is more of a difference between 523i and 528i than 528i and 530i.  I have the latter and provided it's driven properly it can be pretty rapid. Being non turbo it is not an instant shove but makes you work for it, which personally I prefer. 

Good luck in your search.  I am on and off selling mine but can't decide what to replace it. I am mostly happy with it. Certainly happy with the engine - n53 is pretty light and makes for a chuck able f10.

Awfully expensive problems with the N53 engine are well documented. Shame on BMW. Depending on how long you keep the car, you might be lucky and have no issues, or it could be ruinously expensive. I don't think I'd buy one.

I think (hope!) the fuel pump is different on the N55 from the N53.

Petrol F10s are as common as rocking horse poo.

Go for a 6 pot petrol it's BMWs trade mark.