525-Jay

Can someone help? MAP/MAF sensors

I've read people talk about the MAP sensor and MAF sensors on the E60. I'm quite ignorant on these topics, some google searching is helping me understand them a little bit..

Do you change these parts often or clean them? Had my car 4 years and haven't done anything like that, so I'm thinking is there any va-va-voom I'm missing out on? Even if not, if it means my car is healthier then I'm happy to do it.

Is it something I can do myself? I'm not an expert but consider myself quite handy with a spanner or 2.

The boost sensor (MAP) I would remove and clean it. MAF you could replace but it depends on the cars mileage. It's a slippery slope when you start replacing components on life rather than when they complain because it can be difficult to draw the line on where to stop. Personally if you wanted to, I would fit a new genuine MAF and top o2 sensor. Boost sensor you could do if you wanted but they are less likely to fail. Modern ECUs know so well about what's going on they will usually complain when they start to act up, but not always. 

4 minutes ago, Mashed Potatoes said:

The boost sensor (MAP) I would remove and clean it. MAF you could replace but it depends on the cars mileage. It's a slippery slope when you start replacing components on life rather than when they complain because it can be difficult to draw the line on where to stop.  

Thanks - my car is sitting under 134k right now.. What would you use to clean it? I get what you mean about unnecessarily replacing things, I'm just not sure if it is complaining and I'm just not realising.

What's a top O2 sensor?

On that basis I would look to replace the MAF and the o2 sensor in the exhaust. Clean the manifold and boost sensor with a view to maybe replacing it price dependant.