SuperDave

Bowel Cancer Awareness Month - please read

April is bowel cancer awareness month. This post is simply to help educate and raise awareness about one of the most common cancers but also possibly one of the least talked about and deadly - its the second most common cancer killer but can be treated with great rates of success if picked up early.:-D

Reason for posting is personal, ive been battling it for the last 18 months and if there's even a chance I can persuade someone to get checked out earlier and give them a better chance of survival then sharing my story here is worth it. I'm lucky to have got this far because although i had a couple of symptoms I explained them away to myself. As a healthy half-marathon running 40 year old why would I think different right? Well by the time i went to my GP with 3/5 symptoms it had spread to my liver and later my lungs and bits. Survival is a constant cycle of chemo and rest right now,  I dont recommend it, but the alternative when it comes (and there is no question, it is incurable this late on)  is obviously far less desirable.:ph34r:

So please just have a quick look at this stuff, only takes a few seconds, and take a minute to think about whether you have any of the symptoms or if you're old enough qualify for the easy home screening kits-its rare in young people but incidence  rates are growing frighteningly quick. 

SuperDave

BC_UK_BBC(Symptoms)-cropped%20(2).jpg

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/bowel-cancer/symptoms/

Edited by SuperDave

Dave I've liked this for the sentiment not the prognosis. Sorry to hear your story.  I have a friend who has come through this and it was one hell of a ride. I wish you all the very best. 

Good post I get tested every year for Bowel and Prostrate 

Hope all turns out well for you

Edited by Phill20d