adragonr

LE2-Jetronic - Help Needed

Hi All,

After a fairly exhaustive check, clean, rebuild schedule I'm seeking some advice on my running issues with a 1985 520i with LE2-Jetronic.

My major issue is that it starts, and idles at 800-900 rpm,  and after 30 seconds, cuts out and smells like it running very rich.  Car hasn't been on the road for 3 years.

Mine has no Cold Start Valve.  No Thermoswitch. But does have an Air Slide Valve and far too many vacuum lines for my taste.

For reference, I have fitted new distributor cap, rotor arm, spark plugs, blue temp sensor, air filter, timing belt, water pump.

I have cleaned the air slide valve and some other coolant passages that were blocked.  I have also trialed known good fuel pressure regulators and injectors.

The previous owner did play around with the AFM but unfortunately did not mark the start point so I have no idea what the correct position is.

Prior to replacing the timing belt etc the car ran, and at the very least got up to temperature, however, had no power, struggled to get above 35mph, spluttered under load and was generally dangerous. 

I am now just trying to get it to run long enough to bleed the coolant system.

For reference, it will stay running so long as I keep the idle at ~1000rpm on the throttle.

Any advice that people can provide would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Hows your ignition timing? I ask because I see that you changed the cam belt and unless you marked the oil pump/distributor drive pulley you may have disturbed the timing removing and fitting the belt.

What part of the country are you in?

Sorry, I should have also stated that I have tried a known good AFM and it ran like a pig, wouldn't even idle without throttle.   However this AFM was from a 1988 E30 320i (M20B20 with motronic).  Injectors were also from the same engine.