Mashed Potatoes

My E60 535D - a tale of loving it, and wanting to torch it

9 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

Well I've never done a project thread before so sorry if this doesn't follow the usual way of doing things! 

I bought the car August 2016 as a cat D write off (oh what a giggle this turned out to be) for £6250 with 120k on it. The car itself looked good. It had some crap pre-LCI headlights in it where the loom had obviously been chopped to make them work, but the panels lined up well, there were no knocks or bangs and a look underneath revealed all new suspension arms etc on the drivers side. We took it out for a test drive and it pulled well, the engine sounded relatively healthy, if not a little tappy. There was a little bit of a whine from the small turbo but I knew they weren't the strongest so didn't worry about that. And the airbag warning light was on so I plugged my scanner in and it was for the drivers side belt tensioner. I haggled the seller down from his £7k asking price and drove it away that night after driving down from near Chester to Birmingham to look at it. I followed my then business partner back in his 635D which it kept up with no problem, there was a judder from the front when the brakes were hot, but that was it. It cruised home up the M6 with nothing noteworthy other than 2 knackered numberplate bulbs and the boot release handle didn't work, but was fine on the key and the button in the car.

I gave it a wash the next day and ordered a new belt tensioner. That got fitted and the light cleared. Woo no more issues!

:lol: No.

Because I was off work ill, I ended up chucking it into a local garage to sort out the brakes. No problem, new calipers on the front along with new discs and new pads. New discs and pads went on the back too. I hoped this would've been the last of the brake problems but oh no! Comes to that later!