Davy Webster

New member from Scotland

24 posts in this topic

Hello everyone.

I'm a new member based in Glasgow, Scotland. I am a full time mechanic for over 15 years. I love all vehicles and of course I have a soft spot for BMW. I currently have an offer of an E39 520. I have some questions regarding this car. I just want to be sure I post these questions in the right place. Don't want to ruffle any feathers on my first day.

Hope you're all well, look forward to your replies.

Cheers

Davy 

Hi Davy. Welcome to the wonderful world of BMW. I think that most folk on here would say that the 520 is under-powered for such a big heavy car, but if insurance and such is a big factor in your choice, then it should be the cheapest. Keep us posted with developments.

Thanks yes unfortunately insurance is a determining factor. I believe this one is the 2.2 which performs marginally better than the 2.0 engine. You will have seen some of my concerns on the E39 page. I really do need to see the car to be able to make a decision. I just wondered if I should look elsewhere going on the advert alone.

Hi Davy, welcome to the forum! I have never driven an e39 520i but I have heard the engine is very smooth, comparably economical and still provides a fantastic noise from that 6 cylinder engine.

My dad still has e34 520i, yes it is not a fast car (anymore) but very comfortable and sounds great!

Enjoy it!

Vlady

Thanks @Vlady just trying to sort my finances and I'll go and have a look at it. I had heard they are a bit thirsty but it's a hit I'm prepared to take. I'd rather have this than a run of the mill car of the same price.

Vlady likes this

It's a petrol 6 pot, what's not to like? It's what BMW are known for. Have you gone for it?