Sign in to follow this  
535i Andrew

Ebay advice required

Sold something on ebay last week. Total sale just over £15 inc postage.

Posted item 2nd class Royal Mail and obtained proof of postage on Thursday 21st July.

Today the buyer e-mails to ask where the item is.

I respond to tell him I posted it last week and have proof of postage and that I will contact Royal Mail and advise him.

Any thoughts on what I should do next?

I'm new to the selling lark with not having issues in the past so unsure as to what I can do, hence the request for advice from on here.

Thanks

I think from memory the proof of postage will come into play 1 month after. Basically if the item still hasn't turned up after a month it is up to the buyer to chase royal mail to see what's happened. Not sure what happens in terms of reimbursement if the item is lost altogether

2nd class is a crap service, but generally lands!

Give it 10 days and then chase with RM

Thing is, the buyer can easily say they haven;t got the item and you've not got a leg to stand on, that's why I always pay for a signed service these days, it's not that much more!

56 minutes ago, d_a_n1979 said:

Thing is, the buyer can easily say they haven;t got the item and you've not got a leg to stand on, that's why I always pay for a signed service these days, it's not that much more!

That's my worry!

Signed postage add another £1.10 on top of £2.85 postage cost.  Plus cost of the packaging, plus costs of ebay (10% total) and paypal (3.4% total)  and you are looking at then charging getting on for £5.00 otherwise you loose money on it.

Looking at ebay basically I've to refund the item and then take it up with Royal Mail.  Royal Mail say three days for delivery which has unfortunately passed in my case.

Hi,

PeteLPG - that's incorrect. It's up to the seller to chase up where the parcel/package/packet is. This is quite simply because it's the seller that has a contract with whichever service is used to send the item.