garyjpaterson

E34 Suddenly Not Starting - No Sound from Fuel Pump!

Ok, so bear with me as I'm pretty new at diagnosing/fixing my own cars myself, and mostly all the mechanic work I've done has been based on help from the internet. I'm going to explain the situation as clearly as possible, so to narrow down what the problem may be.

The Car - 1991 BMW E34 525i, M50 Non-Vanos engine (RHD, manual gearbox, almost 70000 miles). I've owned it for a few months now, and its done very little mileage the last few years, so I expected things to go wrong early as I am using it daily. Soon after purchase I have replaced the Thermostat, Radiator, Water Pump and cleaned out the Heater Valve.

The Problem - Ok, so I drove to work just fine, with no notable issues or irregularities that I was aware of. I parked on a reasonable slope with the nose upwards (sorry for the detail, but I just want to make sure I cover everything), which I've done before occasionally with no issues, though typically I park the other way.

Late that afternoon, I try to start the car to leave work. It turns over, but no signs of life. First thought was it had dropped all its fuel, as it clearly wasn't getting any, or not getting a spark (I checked, still had about a third of a tank). It was pretty cold, around 0 Degrees Celsius, but its started in colder before.

Came back on Sunday to drop off the car a co-worker had lent me, and out of curiosity to tried to start the BMW. What do you know, it starts. A little hesitant, but after a few seconds it sounded fine. However, after attempting to drive it home, it cut out when overtaking at 70mph about 2-3 Miles down the road frown.gif

My fixing attempts so far - Ok, so after getting the car towed home, I began investigating. 

First thought was fuel pump, I wasn't hearing it start up when turning the ignition, and the same when turning over.