WickRatson

Rick's E28 V8 Build

Hello all, i thought i would start a project thread. I'd like to use this thread to maximize some exposure on parts needed, and hopefully in the next two years make it quite a good read. I'm open to any advice absolutely anyone would like to give on doing a E28 project. I absolutely don't mind criticism! Just bear in mind, this is my first build! so be gentle. :-P

I do also have an idea of how the final product will look. My aim, is to recreate a M5 of the era, how i would of made it. A dream M5 of the day so to speak. I would love to make it as "stock" looking as possible. I'm not going to go mental on styling, just a roody big bee under the bonnet! Here goes...

Parts needed.

• Doner car (m62b44)
  • stand alone ECU for M62
  • Manual gearbox to fit v8 (530?)
  • Black Interior. (Retrim to be done at the end)
  • Instrument cluster (a working one)
  • LSD(Parts and advice needed)
  • Coilovers/Decent road suspension setup
  • Mtec bodykit. Maybe.

The car - BMW E28 528i

The car is a 1987 528i. It was a one owner from new when i bought it, with 127K on the clock. With a pacific blue interior. I believe the man owned a engineering firm of sorts in Sheffield, and used it as a company car. i bought it from a trader of sorts selling it on behalf of the daughter as the gentleman passed away.

F4qPohZ.jpg

p6sr0RU.jpg

GcZBl2v.jpg

ehqiw1T.jpg

rmMUlFT.jpg

In the Bay..

zyW45bn.jpg

WQY1Dyg.jpg

All plastics are looking very tired. All panels very straight though.

Honking metric wheels, I have BBS RS090's to replace them with. Currently getting refurbed.

Something else to note, i took a magnet to me to the sale. I cant find any filler in the prone areas.